Movie Reviews

Page 4 of 30 Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 17 ... 30  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Thu Jul 14, 2011 5:02 pm



I think that's been around for a while. I'll look it up and maybe get from Netflix.
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12651
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Suzzzz on Thu Jul 14, 2011 9:20 pm

For a woman's point of view, read The Mists of Avalon. I have NOT seen the movie.
avatar
Suzzzz
Earl's Very Best Friend
Earl's Very Best Friend

Posts : 2903
Join date : 2010-06-19
Age : 62
Location : North Carolina

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Thu Jul 14, 2011 9:32 pm



I've read Mists of Avalon. Wonderful book. Didn't know they had made a movie
of it.
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12651
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by fiffur on Fri Jul 15, 2011 12:12 pm

It was a miniseries actually. I didn't see it either but saw plenty of commericals for it.
avatar
fiffur
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 14592
Join date : 2010-06-21
Location : Rockton, IL

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Bob on Fri Jul 15, 2011 1:50 pm

http://www.tv.com/mists-of-avalon/show/74597/episode.html?tag=page_nav;episode

There's a link to the TV.com site.
avatar
Bob
Mutts Nutt
Mutts Nutt

Posts : 556
Join date : 2010-07-13
Age : 66
Location : Gallifrey

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Fri Jul 15, 2011 8:02 pm



Thanks for the link. I may see if our library has it.
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12651
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Suzzzz on Sat Jul 16, 2011 10:15 pm

Borrowed The Aviator from my parents and watched it tonight. Man, that Howard Hughes was bug bug nuts. And if he hadn't had so much money and power to stave off interference, he might have gotten help before he went off the deep end. But maybe not. They didn't know much about OCD back in the 30's, 40's, 50's.... well, where are we now? Absolutely tragic. Because he was absolutely brilliant.

Eating Eating Eating

I'd give it one more Eating but I'm too exhausted after sitting through 3 hours of it. The movie was extremely long, yet they didn't even attempt to deal with the rest of his story. His whole bio would have to be a mini series, but it would end in a dark, mad place. Not something I'd care to watch.
avatar
Suzzzz
Earl's Very Best Friend
Earl's Very Best Friend

Posts : 2903
Join date : 2010-06-19
Age : 62
Location : North Carolina

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Sat Jul 16, 2011 10:46 pm



Suzzz, I've put the movie on my list. My brother recommend it. Just finished watching
Shall We Dance. I highly recommend it. The title is from the King and I. It's a great dance
routine. The movie stars Richard Gere, Jennifer Lopez and Susan Saranden. There are other actors you
will recognize. I give this movie Eating Eating Eating Eating
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12651
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Bob on Sun Jul 17, 2011 12:25 am

Sue Short wrote:

Thanks for the link. I may see if our library has it.

It is available on DVD so with any luck your library will have it. Good hunting.
avatar
Bob
Mutts Nutt
Mutts Nutt

Posts : 556
Join date : 2010-07-13
Age : 66
Location : Gallifrey

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by BobCat on Sun Jul 17, 2011 8:41 am

I'm with you, Suzzzz; The Aviator was a very good movie about a very sick boy - and it was too long, like many movies nowdays.
avatar
BobCat
Admin
Admin

Posts : 2507
Join date : 2010-06-16
Location : Aurora, IL

http://bluecat1105.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by jeanebellini on Sun Jul 17, 2011 6:50 pm

sue i think one of my faves is in that Shall we Dance...wasn't Stanley Tucci in there..i think he was one of the people trying to learn to dance?
avatar
jeanebellini
Moochie's Muse
Moochie's Muse

Posts : 6236
Join date : 2010-06-20
Location : Rescue Kitty Central

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Sun Jul 17, 2011 7:23 pm



Yes, he is.
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12651
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Suzzzz on Sun Jul 17, 2011 8:27 pm

Shall We Dance is a wonderful movie! I liked it so much I bought it and have watched it at least twice since.
Eating Eating Eating Eating for sure!
avatar
Suzzzz
Earl's Very Best Friend
Earl's Very Best Friend

Posts : 2903
Join date : 2010-06-19
Age : 62
Location : North Carolina

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by jeanebellini on Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:44 pm

wow suzzz....i don't think i could sit through anything with jlo in it that many times....tucci or not tucci;)
avatar
jeanebellini
Moochie's Muse
Moochie's Muse

Posts : 6236
Join date : 2010-06-20
Location : Rescue Kitty Central

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:46 pm



In this movie she doesn't have to act just dance and she CAN DANCE!!!!!
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12651
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Suzzzz on Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:03 pm

See, I didn't even know Jlo was in it. Please, don't even tell me who she is! So distracting. It's like all those animated movies. If the hype is loud enough I'll watch them, and they're often great, but I never pay attention to who's doing the voices. (with a few unavoidable exceptions, like Hanks as Woody and Ed Asner in Up) Movies, including animated, should stand on their own merits, IMO, not which star is voicing which character.

The Movie Curmudgeon speaks. Razz
avatar
Suzzzz
Earl's Very Best Friend
Earl's Very Best Friend

Posts : 2903
Join date : 2010-06-19
Age : 62
Location : North Carolina

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by BobCat on Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:14 pm

Do we all dislike JLo that much? I don't have a strong opinion about her one way or another.
avatar
BobCat
Admin
Admin

Posts : 2507
Join date : 2010-06-16
Location : Aurora, IL

http://bluecat1105.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Suzzzz on Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:23 pm

I don't even know who she is! And I don't want to know! Lord, I know somebody here is going to tell me. Okay, just don't tell me her role in Shall We Dance, okay? Some things should retain their purity, and that is a fine, sweet movie.

~signed, The Queen of Denial
avatar
Suzzzz
Earl's Very Best Friend
Earl's Very Best Friend

Posts : 2903
Join date : 2010-06-19
Age : 62
Location : North Carolina

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:24 pm



AMEN to that!!!!!!
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12651
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Sat Aug 06, 2011 11:51 pm



Just finished Hereafter with Matt Damon. The blurb from Netflix is miss leading and so
are the trailers when it was originally released. Considering my interest in the subject this
film is a loser. I think there are other moves that deal with the subject a lot better.
Eating And that's being generous.
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12651
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Bob on Sun Aug 07, 2011 11:10 am

Though it grieves me to say it as a big fan of Green Lantern. Captain America blew the GL film out of the water. I saw it yesterday and it is terrific. Good casting (although it took me a while to get Chris Evans as the Human Torch in the FF films out of my head) made the film a must see. The cameo roles from the likes of Dum Dum Dugan and Bucky Barnes were good too.
Eating Eating Eating Eating Eating

Cowboys and Aliens was a totally different kettle of fish. What started out as a fairly normal western came into it's own when the aliens appeared. All good stuff and totally enjoyable. Daniel Craig and Harrison Ford thoroughly enjoy themselves throughout (even though Harrison Ford apparently threw the script across the room after reading the first thirty pages saying there was nothing in it for him). Boy was he wrong. Seeing him as a less than likeable character was something of a shock but a good departure from the norm.
Eating Eating Eating Eating
avatar
Bob
Mutts Nutt
Mutts Nutt

Posts : 556
Join date : 2010-07-13
Age : 66
Location : Gallifrey

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Sun Aug 07, 2011 11:21 am



I'll check both of them out when they hit dvd. Watched Hereafter last night, very disappointed.
To me it wasted Matt Damon's talent. Not worth the popcorn.
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12651
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by jeanebellini on Sun Aug 07, 2011 6:44 pm

bob is the guy playing capt america the same guy who was the Torch in FF? I don't know why i thought the guy playing Capt America was English or Australian!
Cowboys and ALiens looks like fun....but the title remindsme too much of some adult anime thing! maybe i just have Cowboy Bebop in my head! (i could see a mash up of Bebop and Trigun being Cowboys and Aliens!)

currently i have the first Transformers movie on (leading up to the season finale of Falling Skies)....don't have much of any opinion about it yet.
avatar
jeanebellini
Moochie's Muse
Moochie's Muse

Posts : 6236
Join date : 2010-06-20
Location : Rescue Kitty Central

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Suzzzz on Sun Aug 07, 2011 8:54 pm

I admit I'm not a big fan of the comic book genre so I probably won't see GL or CA, but I can't help being interested in Cowboys & Aliens because 1. I grew up on Westerns, 2. I have a thing for Harrison Ford (who doesn't?), and 3. any movie that marries cowboys with aliens yet still proposes to play it straight has GOT to be at least worth a look. Thanks for that review, Bob! Laughing
avatar
Suzzzz
Earl's Very Best Friend
Earl's Very Best Friend

Posts : 2903
Join date : 2010-06-19
Age : 62
Location : North Carolina

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Bob on Mon Aug 08, 2011 1:21 am

jeanebellini wrote:bob is the guy playing capt america the same guy who was the Torch in FF? I don't know why i thought the guy playing Capt America was English or Australian!

Yep Chris Evans was Johnny Storm (the Human Torch) in both FF movies. You may be getting mixed up with the Thor movie. The guy who played Thor, Chris Hemsworth, is Australian. He also played George Kirk (Jim Kirk's father) in the last Star Trek movie.
Apparently they're making another FF film but with a totally different cast. I thought the original cast was excellent.
avatar
Bob
Mutts Nutt
Mutts Nutt

Posts : 556
Join date : 2010-07-13
Age : 66
Location : Gallifrey

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 4 of 30 Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 17 ... 30  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum