Movie Reviews

Page 17 of 31 Previous  1 ... 10 ... 16, 17, 18 ... 24 ... 31  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Bob on Thu Dec 13, 2012 3:42 pm

Hope you enjoy it too.
avatar
Bob
Mutts Nutt
Mutts Nutt

Posts : 556
Join date : 2010-07-13
Age : 66
Location : Gallifrey

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by fiffur on Mon Dec 17, 2012 2:16 pm

Tooth Fairy 2 was funny! Larry the Cable Guy put his own stamp on the role, and I thought Brad was going to fall out of his wheelchair he was laughing so hard at times. Overall, I give it a Eating Eating Eating
avatar
fiffur
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 14863
Join date : 2010-06-21
Location : Rockton, IL

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Fire Flower on Fri Dec 21, 2012 8:16 pm

Ice Age: Continental Drift wasn't as good as the other three...I think the whole point of the movie was just to give Diego a love interest.


Eating Eating 1/2
avatar
Fire Flower
Mutts Nutt
Mutts Nutt

Posts : 614
Join date : 2012-03-08
Location : NYC

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Suzzzz on Sat Dec 22, 2012 9:11 pm

Got The Candidate from Netflix but was very disappointed. North Carolina (and I can say this, being a native) has plenty of political shenanigans to make sport of, but this movie just used the name and never bothered with the meat. It was nothing more than escalating silly nonsense, too ridiculous to be even remotely believable. Total waste of time.

Eating

The good news is I caught the last hour of The Man Who Came To Dinner on TCM, a marvelous oldie with Bette Davis in one of her sweetheart roles. Hilarious chicanery with marvelous characters. If you've never seen it, catch it if you can!

Eating Eating Eating Eating
avatar
Suzzzz
Earl's Very Best Friend
Earl's Very Best Friend

Posts : 2903
Join date : 2010-06-19
Age : 63
Location : North Carolina

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Sat Dec 22, 2012 9:16 pm



The last one is hitting my Netflix list. Sound great.
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12966
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Bob on Sun Dec 23, 2012 1:39 am

Suzz, 'The Man Who Came To Dinner' is a classic (and much overlooked) piece of cinema. Brilliant acting from everyone, especially his nurse.

Fireflower, I couldn't agree more re: Ice Age 4. Only parts I really enjoyed contained Granny sloth and the ones with Scrat in them.
avatar
Bob
Mutts Nutt
Mutts Nutt

Posts : 556
Join date : 2010-07-13
Age : 66
Location : Gallifrey

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Suzzzz on Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:35 pm

Agreed, Bob! Delightful, overlooked movie, and Miss Preen the nurse (Mary Wickes) is absolute gem. You'll certainly recognise her, Sue. She had a long, rich career as a character actress.
avatar
Suzzzz
Earl's Very Best Friend
Earl's Very Best Friend

Posts : 2903
Join date : 2010-06-19
Age : 63
Location : North Carolina

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by lovekitties on Mon Dec 24, 2012 3:58 pm

saw Twightlight breaking Dawn pt 2 yesterday- what a cop out LOL
and the special effects were atrocious- the baby looked so unreal it was creepy.
you'd think with the amount of money those pictures make the could afford better special effects.
avatar
lovekitties
Earl's Very Best Friend
Earl's Very Best Friend

Posts : 3968
Join date : 2010-06-21
Age : 66
Location : Brooklyn, NY

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Fire Flower on Tue Dec 25, 2012 8:01 pm

I watched a DVD I got for Christmas...Tiny Toon Adventures: How I Spent My Vacation. It was the very first made-for-video animated movie and it finally came out on DVD this year. It is a little bit dated but it was very funny and they pack a lot into the short running time. Don't be fooled by that awful cover art. Mad

Eating Eating Eating
avatar
Fire Flower
Mutts Nutt
Mutts Nutt

Posts : 614
Join date : 2012-03-08
Location : NYC

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Tue Dec 25, 2012 11:51 pm



Watched Breakfast at Tiffinay's This a very sweet romantic movie, it's also
a period piece. The name stars are Audrey Hepburn and George Peppard
the small cast the character actors steal the show. Word of note here, I know
animal people, especially those whole deal with cats get bent all out of shape because
of the scene where Audrey dumps cat. They forget that Peppard gets out of the cab
and goes to look for him. Then Hepburn goes after both of them. Happy ending.

As for the signature song Moon River, in the movie it's great and well used as a reoccurring
theme. If I hear Andy Williams do it I'll not merely gak but barf. At the end of all of this I'll
give it Eating Eating Eating Eating
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12966
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Bob on Wed Dec 26, 2012 10:38 am

I'm in total agreement with the four popcorns Sue. But don't forget Mr Yunioshi (Mickey Rooney). Wonderful acting.
avatar
Bob
Mutts Nutt
Mutts Nutt

Posts : 556
Join date : 2010-07-13
Age : 66
Location : Gallifrey

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Wed Dec 26, 2012 10:54 am



That character was played my Mickey Rooney!?!?!?! I didn't recognize him.
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12966
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Bob on Wed Dec 26, 2012 12:02 pm

Sue Short wrote:

That character was played my Mickey Rooney!?!?!?! I didn't recognize him.

Not many do. Very Happy Have to admit, I was surprised when I saw his name in the credits. Shocked
avatar
Bob
Mutts Nutt
Mutts Nutt

Posts : 556
Join date : 2010-07-13
Age : 66
Location : Gallifrey

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by lovekitties on Wed Dec 26, 2012 2:54 pm

they are bringing breakfast at Tiffany's to the New York Stage this spring, with the actress who plays Dany in game of Thrones doing the Audrey hepburn role
avatar
lovekitties
Earl's Very Best Friend
Earl's Very Best Friend

Posts : 3968
Join date : 2010-06-21
Age : 66
Location : Brooklyn, NY

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by BobCat on Wed Dec 26, 2012 3:14 pm

I don't think I've EVER seen a more mis-cast movie than Breakfast at Tiffany's. I could hardly believe what I was seeing when I caught it for the first time on television a couple of years ago.
avatar
BobCat
Admin
Admin

Posts : 2507
Join date : 2010-06-16
Location : Aurora, IL

http://www.whoppingfalls.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Wed Dec 26, 2012 3:16 pm



That's interesting, who would you have cast?
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12966
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by BobCat on Wed Dec 26, 2012 4:32 pm

I read once that Marilyn Monroe was Truman Capote's choice for the on-screen Holly Golightly, and I can't help but think she would have fit the "call girl" image much better than the pristine Audrey Hepburn. And Mickey Rooney as Mr. Yunioshi??? That was about as racially insensitive as they get! As for George Peppard, I'm not quite sure who I would have liked to see in his role, but I just never gave him much thought as an actor. I guess I could take him or leave him in just about every movie or TV show I ever saw him in.
avatar
BobCat
Admin
Admin

Posts : 2507
Join date : 2010-06-16
Location : Aurora, IL

http://www.whoppingfalls.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Wed Dec 26, 2012 5:25 pm



I remember reading that. I can see Marilyn in the part. The character would have had a little
more zing in her that's for sure. As for Mickey Rooney well, if you look at the cast of Lawerence of
Arabia, with the exception of Omar Sharif the entire cast was British and it worked.
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12966
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by BobCat on Thu Dec 27, 2012 12:07 am

I've never thought much of Mickey's acting, and then you have him portraying an Asian with that hammy style of his and it just seemed that much worse.
avatar
BobCat
Admin
Admin

Posts : 2507
Join date : 2010-06-16
Location : Aurora, IL

http://www.whoppingfalls.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Thu Dec 27, 2012 12:53 am



AHHH!! Okay got you now.
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12966
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by fiffur on Thu Dec 27, 2012 3:01 pm

Prometheus: it was fine. Lot of it reminded me of previous films by the director and writer though....too many elements that reminded me of Alien and Predator a bit too much.
avatar
fiffur
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 14863
Join date : 2010-06-21
Location : Rockton, IL

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by lovekitties on Mon Dec 31, 2012 2:04 pm

I watched Night at the Museum no. 2 yesterday. alot of fun.
also watched Pride and Prejudice, the version with keira Knightly. It was kind of boring. I think because of the "arty" direction
avatar
lovekitties
Earl's Very Best Friend
Earl's Very Best Friend

Posts : 3968
Join date : 2010-06-21
Age : 66
Location : Brooklyn, NY

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Suzzzz on Mon Dec 31, 2012 9:36 pm

Boy, that story's been done a million times. Results are bound to vary.

Just out of curiosity, I looked at IMdB for matches to "Pride and Prejudice" and it turned up 34! Granted, about a dozen were TV episode titles that had nothing to do with the Austin book (except, perhaps, thematically). My point is this must be one of the most staged books in history. Amazing. I can't think of another story that's been done more often. Wait, probably A Christmas Carol.
avatar
Suzzzz
Earl's Very Best Friend
Earl's Very Best Friend

Posts : 2903
Join date : 2010-06-19
Age : 63
Location : North Carolina

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Mon Dec 31, 2012 11:55 pm



Just finished the Curious Case of Benjamin Button. Cate Blanchett and Brad Pitt are
the prinicipals(sp). I'm not to sure what to make of this movie. I really enjoyed it and
it was very thoughtful and well put together. The actress who had the part of Queenie, is the
actress who is doing the dective(sp) in Person of Interest. Eating Eating Eating Eating
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12966
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Tue Jan 01, 2013 11:14 pm


Just finished the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. What an incredible movie, very sweet
and kind. Maggie Smith, Judi Dench, I'll have to look the others up. One of the women
is on Downton Abbey in the part of Matthews mother. The actor who did the part of her
husband is very familiar if you watch a lot of PBS British series. Eating Eating Eating Eating
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12966
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 17 of 31 Previous  1 ... 10 ... 16, 17, 18 ... 24 ... 31  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum