Movie Reviews

Page 16 of 31 Previous  1 ... 9 ... 15, 16, 17 ... 23 ... 31  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Fire Flower on Fri Nov 09, 2012 9:13 pm

Brave was good but not as good as some of the other Pixar movies. Merida was a great character.

Eating Eating Eating
avatar
Fire Flower
Mutts Nutt
Mutts Nutt

Posts : 614
Join date : 2012-03-08
Location : NYC

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Thu Nov 22, 2012 10:26 pm



Watching Casablanca. Great movie, I know I've already given it
Eating Eating Eating Eating Eating
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12966
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by fiffur on Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:19 pm

Watched 2012 last night at Brads......good movie! Had us on the edge of our seats quite a bit. The effects were amazing too. Eating Eating Eating Eating

http://movies.yahoo.com/movie/2012-2009/
avatar
fiffur
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 14863
Join date : 2010-06-21
Location : Rockton, IL

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Suzzzz on Sun Nov 25, 2012 8:53 pm

Saw The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel last night and loved it. I won't call it charming (although it was) or sweet (although it was) but rather real, in a gentle sort of way. It's about various old folks who take a chance, and how they each deal with the sunset of their lives. As an "old folk" myself, I found it very uplifting. The acting was superb! But no wonder, given the cast of veterans.

Eating Eating Eating Eating
avatar
Suzzzz
Earl's Very Best Friend
Earl's Very Best Friend

Posts : 2903
Join date : 2010-06-19
Age : 63
Location : North Carolina

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Sun Nov 25, 2012 9:35 pm



i can't wait to see this. I have it on my Netflix list. I think it may be fourth or fifth.
Maggie Smith et al are great.
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12966
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by fiffur on Tue Nov 27, 2012 1:54 pm

Still waiting for my name to come up on the library's waiting list to see Prometheus and Men in Black 3. Anybody here see either of those yet? Were they good?
avatar
fiffur
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 14863
Join date : 2010-06-21
Location : Rockton, IL

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Tue Nov 27, 2012 7:07 pm



No, that reminds me I haven't even seen Men in Black II
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12966
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Bob on Wed Nov 28, 2012 4:52 am

Saw Prometheus and wasn't all that impressed by it. I just felt it had been made for the sake of making it. It left me wondering why they had even bothered.
Still haven't seen MIB3. It's out on DVD so I'll probably get that.

Watched the Avengers film again yesterday. I absolutely love it. All the characters were well written (thank you Joss Whedon. Ever reliable). Watched Green Lantern (sadly underrated) again too.

Starting a Hammer Horror film marathon now. Just started watching The Vampire Lovers. Then on to Twins of Evil and Vampire Circus. Then I'll just put my hand into the bag and select the next Hammer film. Didn't realise how many of them I'd got. Yay.
avatar
Bob
Mutts Nutt
Mutts Nutt

Posts : 556
Join date : 2010-07-13
Age : 66
Location : Gallifrey

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Fire Flower on Thu Nov 29, 2012 3:24 pm

Arthur Christmas

It had a very simple story that did not need a 97 mintue running time

Eating Eating

ParaNorman

It had some funny moments and a good plot twist

Eating Eating Eating
avatar
Fire Flower
Mutts Nutt
Mutts Nutt

Posts : 614
Join date : 2012-03-08
Location : NYC

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Suzzzz on Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:55 pm

Watched the documentary The Queen of Versailles tonight. OMG. It was like a trip into greed/neediness hell.

From IMDb: In 2008, the Siegel family was top of the heap with the wealthy and politically influential David Siegel running the successful Westgate Resorts time-share business. To enjoy their good life, he and his beauty queen trophy wife, Jackie, were building the largest single family private home in America. Suddenly, both the US economy and Westgate were rocked by the devastating sub-prime mortgage collapse. In the new economic reality with the business teetering on ruin, we follow the Siegels as they struggle to scale down their grotesquely ostentatious lifestyle. For this overprivileged family, accepting that situation proved a dispiriting struggle as their unfinished dream home became a monument of their superficial values.

... themes of love, riches, fame, greed, beauty, family, choices, economic crisis and business failure ... rags-to-riches story turns into riches-to-rags... the situation was real and so was the pain for the Siegel's.


This super rich family is brought low by the 2008 economic collapse, and they have nothing left to hold on to. No human values, no real love and closeness among them, just stuff. More and more, bigger and better, stuff. One of the most pathetic things I've ever witnessed.

Eating Eating Eating Eating (everyone should watch this as an object lesson)
avatar
Suzzzz
Earl's Very Best Friend
Earl's Very Best Friend

Posts : 2903
Join date : 2010-06-19
Age : 63
Location : North Carolina

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:19 pm



I'll keep it in mind. Right now watching It's a Wonderful Life, I have mixed emotions about
this film. For some reason I don't want to watch my Netflix movie. Will catch it later.
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12966
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Suzzzz on Sun Dec 02, 2012 7:49 pm

Huh. Don't ask me about It's a Wonderful Life; I'm infamous for not liking it. clown Next they'll be playing Wizard of Oz, another of my least favorite movies. No

What's the Netflix you don't feel like watching?
avatar
Suzzzz
Earl's Very Best Friend
Earl's Very Best Friend

Posts : 2903
Join date : 2010-06-19
Age : 63
Location : North Carolina

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Sun Dec 02, 2012 8:46 pm



A League of Their Own. I'll pop it in tomorrow, tv is an even vaster wasteland
on Monday.
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12966
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Fire Flower on Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:58 pm

Looking back at this thread I have decided to change two of my ratings.

Happy Feet Two is not a two popcorn movie but only a Eating

Bridge to Terabithia is not a three popcorn movie but Eating Eating Eating Eating
avatar
Fire Flower
Mutts Nutt
Mutts Nutt

Posts : 614
Join date : 2012-03-08
Location : NYC

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Wed Dec 05, 2012 6:34 pm



Never seen Happy Feet Two but have seen the second one and I really enjoyed it. Glad
you did too. Watched A League of Their Own on Monday, while a sweet movie and well crafted
from the production values and the talent. Well the writers I think muffed it, still I give it Eating Eating Eating
I happen to like baseball.
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12966
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Suzzzz on Wed Dec 05, 2012 9:57 pm

Generally speaking, at my advanced age, I prefer movies about adults to ones about kids. But, on your rec, Fire Flower, I've added it to my Netflix queue. I might be "grown up" (hey, no comments from the peanut gallery!) but I do love a good story. Very Happy
avatar
Suzzzz
Earl's Very Best Friend
Earl's Very Best Friend

Posts : 2903
Join date : 2010-06-19
Age : 63
Location : North Carolina

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Fire Flower on Wed Dec 05, 2012 10:00 pm

Don't expect it to be a fantasy adventure...that was just a misleading marketing campaign. It is a very real family drama with minimal special effects.
avatar
Fire Flower
Mutts Nutt
Mutts Nutt

Posts : 614
Join date : 2012-03-08
Location : NYC

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Wed Dec 05, 2012 10:04 pm



Suzzz, Fire Flower is right the marketing campaign was misleading. I think
you will enjoy it.
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12966
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Bob on Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:15 am

I've been on a marathon as far as films are concerned this week.
Watched:
The Woman in Black. Definitely scary fare. Eating Eating Eating
Paranorman. Okay and quite funny in parts. Eating Eating
Hotel Transylvania. Really good. Plenty of humour. Eating Eating Eating Eating
Expendibles 2. Same old Same old, but good to see Stallone, Shwartzenegger et al sending themselves up. Eating Eating Eating
Ghost Rider 2. Don't bother. Left me wondering why they made it. Evil or Very Mad
avatar
Bob
Mutts Nutt
Mutts Nutt

Posts : 556
Join date : 2010-07-13
Age : 66
Location : Gallifrey

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Sun Dec 09, 2012 10:50 am



Watched Mirror Mirror last night who ever recommend this to me THANK YOU!!! You were
right it is a really snarky telling of Snow White Eating Eating Eating Eating
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12966
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Suzzzz on Sun Dec 09, 2012 8:12 pm

Ha! That was me. It was funny, wasn't it? Twisted Evil
avatar
Suzzzz
Earl's Very Best Friend
Earl's Very Best Friend

Posts : 2903
Join date : 2010-06-19
Age : 63
Location : North Carolina

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sue Short on Sun Dec 09, 2012 8:16 pm



I thought I would die laughing. In fact i was laughing so hard I disturbed Antonio's
snoring ahem I'm sorry squeaking, I've been informed that he doesn't snore.
avatar
Sue Short
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 12966
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 66
Location : Dallas, Texas

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by fiffur on Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:32 pm

Men in Black 3 was pretty good. Interesting storyline, great effects, new aliens and tech, and a spot-on performance by Josh Brolin doing a younger version of Tommy Lee Jones' character Agent K. I can see him doing a prequel as Agent K if they choose to write a decent script for it. Of course we all missed Frank the Pug. Still, I give it a Eating Eating Eating
avatar
fiffur
Shtinky's Shweetheart
Shtinky's Shweetheart

Posts : 14863
Join date : 2010-06-21
Location : Rockton, IL

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Bob on Thu Dec 13, 2012 1:42 pm

Watched 'A Monster in Paris' yesterday. It was a lot of fun. Very funny moments and I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Eating Eating Eating Eating
avatar
Bob
Mutts Nutt
Mutts Nutt

Posts : 556
Join date : 2010-07-13
Age : 66
Location : Gallifrey

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Fire Flower on Thu Dec 13, 2012 1:49 pm

I want to see that! It is coming out on DVD here sometime early next year.
avatar
Fire Flower
Mutts Nutt
Mutts Nutt

Posts : 614
Join date : 2012-03-08
Location : NYC

Back to top Go down

Re: Movie Reviews

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 16 of 31 Previous  1 ... 9 ... 15, 16, 17 ... 23 ... 31  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum